Grace to Teach

“That same day Pharoah  gave this order to the slave drivers and foremen in charge of the people: ‘You are no longer to supply the people with straw for making bricks; let them go and gather their own straw. But require them to make the same number of bricks as before; don’t reduce the quota. They are lazy; that is why they are crying out.'”

 – Exodus 5:6-8 NIV

I have served in the field of education since 1992 and I have been privileged to serve in the school system I graduated from in 1986. I have been a follower of Jesus Christ since the Spring of 1993. As I progressed both professionally and spiritually, I began to see the hardships of my colleagues and felt the discouragement classroom teachers feel overwhlemed by the demands and encumbered by the opposition both in and outside the classroom that makes teaching difficult. My faith relationship with Christ opened my eyes to the scripture’s perspective of what classroom teachers all over America are facing in their efforts to teach, influence and insire learning.

The Pharoah of Egypt decided to increase the burden of God’s people to distract them from the news of deliverance and freedom from captivity Moses was bringing on behalf of God to His people. Pharoah withdrew the vital resources necessary to make bricks effectively but still demanded the same quality and quantity from those he oppressed. Even worse, Pharoah required the Israelites to go out and get what they could find to still meet the demand of their daily quota.

Now returning to the classroom after being outside of the classroom for 10 years, I am frustrated by the growing demands and minimal supply of resources and support to help me succeed and achieve with what is being demanded of me. What frustrates me more is the proverbial finger of blame being pointed at teachers for the reality of an overwhelmed school system because of the challenges facing society and our communities. Faith and grace, however, reminds me what is impossible with me is possible with God and anything is possible to him who believes because with God all things are possible. Faith challenges me to call on God and look to Him to help me make progress, succeed and prosper in the face of the challenges facing the state of education today. By His strength and with His power at work in and through me I can do all things through Christ. In the second year of my transition back into the classroom I am in awe of God’s display of power and His demonstration of love to help me succeed, progress and prosper by the distribution of His grace to teach, influence and inspire learning!

May God bestow upon our nation’s educators the strength, wisdom and joy needed to be effective, productive and successful in teaching, influencing and inspiring learning in the classroom and communities they serve.

About myimmanuel

an inspired writer seeking to become a distinguished published author.
This entry was posted in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Leadership, Life, Music, News, Parenting, Politics, Quotes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

