The Principle of Momentum

‘My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit and become my disciples. As the Father has loved me, so I have loved you; abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love.”

– John 15:8-10 NRSV

What does the word momentum mean to you? I ask my students the same question. I use this question and the discussion of the meaning of the word to hold them accountable to what I need from them in order for them to create their own success in my class. If they see momentum as progress, I challenge them to consider what specific actions they need to take in order to build, sustain and recreate momentum, or progress, in my class. One student, 8th grade, explained further the concept of inertia and its impact on momentum, so I then challenged the students to consider what types of external/internal inertia could occur to prevent them from experiencing momentum and plan how to overcome the inertia they encounter.

This is one step I take to instill within them the necessity of demonstrating self-efficacy and personal accountability in their responsibility as a student in their academic/personal growth and development. This also requires me to consider daily, what I need to do to continue to direct them towards my personal/professional goal in seeing them display a greater demonstration of self-efficacy in my classroom.

I am learning to challenge myself to find more effective, creative ways to explain, challenge and motivate student performance within my classroom by avoiding the use of the same statements and phrases I get tired of saying and they get tired of hearing. By doing this, I have come to see how my role as an educator is similar to, or like that of an athletic coach seeking to get the most out of those under his/her guidance and instruction. being a successful educator requires me to consider how to use the right words effectively, daily to convey the necessary urgency within each individual student that enables them to create their own personal momentum and take more responsibility for their own learning and achievement. When this fruit is produced, it becomes a tremendous source of encouragement and sense of empowerment for both the students and me. Especially between January and June:)

May God bless you and help you to implement the principle of momentum in your instruction and interaction with your students/children to consistently produce fruit that creates an environment of harmony, productivity, positivity, and prosperity.

About myimmanuel

an inspired writer seeking to become a distinguished published author.
This entry was posted in Books, Children, Christianity, Classroom management strategies, Community, Culture, Education, Family, History, Leadership, Life, Lifestyle, Music, News, Parenting, Politics, Quotes, School, Teaching, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

