Amazing

‘There are amazingly wonderful people in all walks of life; some familiar to us and others not. Stretch yourself and really get to know people. People are in many ways one of our greatest treasures.’

– Bryant H. McGill

In the busyness of the day I happened to look down and discover strategically arranged under the keyboard of my classroom desktop computer a note that read, ‘You have been the most amazing teacher I have had.’ What makes that moment and that note even more special to me, beyond the sentiment, was understanding who it came from and the encounter we have had in getting to know one another as this school year has progressed.

This particular students aspired to be involved in a student mentoring program I initiated as the school year progressed seeing some of her classmates involved with the program. Her passionate plea was met with a calm, but reserved contemplation and reply that required of her a greater demonstration of self-efficacy in order to become a part of such an illustrious group. I didn’t say it that way, but she would have to earn what she desired and she has! As a result, today I receive the note she left for me to read.

Amazing is what I think of when I look at how far I have come in my role as an educator since 1992. When I think back to how just a few short years ago I wanted nothing to do with returning to the classroom and, today, that note is God’s reminder to me of why I am still here:-) Amazing is what I think of when educators, who are passionate and sincere about what they do, have the moments, encounters, and interactions that leave impressions like ripples in a pond for years after their initial encounter with individual students.

Amazing is what I think of when I reflect upon the many professionals who invest so much of themselves in their craft to educate with a tireless, relentless, and passionate resolve and internal fortitude, despite the many internal/external oppositional forces, remaining devoted, determined, and dedicated to the belief they make a difference!

I salute the educator! You are amazing! Treasure every child, every moment, every encounter that acknowledges and affirms what you do. You are amazing!

May God bless you and help you in your role as an educator to be amazing in instruction, interaction, and inspiring a child to learn.

About myimmanuel

an inspired writer seeking to become a distinguished published author.
This entry was posted in Books, Children, Christianity, Classroom management strategies, Community, Culture, Education, Family, History, Leadership, Life, Lifestyle, Music, News, Parenting, Politics, Quotes, School, Teaching, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

