Discipline

‘Let’s not be afraid to speak the common sense truth: you can’t have high standards without good discipline.’

– William Hague

As this week progressed I reflected on what I might post and the thought ‘discipline’ kept reverberating in my mind like a wave rolling onto the shore. From this thought, two specific quotes come to mind on the subject of discipline, ‘Discipline is not the enemy of enthusiasm,’ stated by actor Morgan Freeman in the movie Lean On Me. The second, ‘Discipline is relationship centered,’ an anonymous quote presented to teachers when I facilitate the classroom management workshop Cooperative Discipline.

When you consider these two quotes, what comes to your mind on the subject of ‘discipline’ and your role as the educator?

There are 4 previous posts that come to mind on the subject of discipline as well that reinforce to me my role/responsibility in modeling/instilling sound discipline that facilitates consistent demonstration of self-efficacy in my students. One post titled, The Principle of Momentum, I have seen both the positive outcome of students who applied the basic principles of momentum taught during this school year and the disappointing outcome of students who were unsuccessful in mastering effective decision-making/problem solving strategies to maintain momentum consistently.

The second post that comes to mind is Promoting Self Efficacy. This post, along with the final two, Effective Classroom Management and Corrective, Supportive, and Preventive, also speak to me about how my consistent personal demonstration of discipline play a major role in how often my students follow my lead. At no time do I ever have control over how my students choose to behave; a conversation I had this week with one of my students demonstrating power behavior, but even in confronting and correcting misconduct am I mindful of my need to display/model discipline?

What evidence have you seen in yourself that, over the years, shows a growth in how you display and instill discipline within your classroom environment?

  • This week alone I noticed I have improved greatly in using ‘I Messages’ to reinforce how I am feeling in relation to how a students chooses to behave and my anger dissipates a lot faster than when I first started teaching.

What is the downfall of relying solely on tone, volume of voice, or consequences as a means of instilling discipline within the students you manage?

  • In the past, this made the students dependent on me to think, choose, and act.
  • My desire for them to demonstrate self-efficacy requires me to allow more autonomy to do so within a structured framework that reinforces boundaries, or freedom with limits. (Hands-joined classroom management approach defined by Dr. Linda Albert, author of Cooperative Discipline)

What methods/strategies have you seen as effective in influencing your students to employ a greater demonstration of self-efficacy?

  • Still a work in progress, but communicating clear, specific expectations and following through with consequences when not followed is tremendously helpful.
  • Having the student explain why they are experiencing consequences has been helpful and reduces the ‘lawyer syndrome debates’

May God bless you and help you to grow in displaying the level of discipline that instills and influences a greater demonstration of self-efficacy.

About myimmanuel

an inspired writer seeking to become a distinguished published author.
This entry was posted in Books, Children, Christianity, Classroom management strategies, Community, Culture, Education, Family, History, Leadership, Life, Lifestyle, Music, News, Parenting, Politics, Quotes, School, Teaching, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

